About the Office of Criminal Conflict and Civil Regional Counsel


The five Regional Counsel offices were created by the legislature (Statute 27.511) in 2007 to provide legal representation to indigent persons in basically three classes of cases: 1) criminal conflict cases that the court grants the Public Defender’s motion to withdraw and appoints the OCCCRC, 2) dependency and civil cases, and 3) certain statutorily authorized civil commitment proceedings. OCCCRC also handles appeals and post conviction motions.

As noted under Statute 27.511, the Florida Legislature states “it is the intent of the Legislature to provide adequate representation in a fiscally sound manner, while safeguarding constitutional principles.”

Over the last few years, the Regional Counsel offices have saved Florida taxpayers millions of dollars while providing quality representation to its clients.


The agency is broken into five main offices, based on the Florida District Courts of Appeals. To view a map of the Third District, including each office's location, click here.

Map of Counsel offices in the state of Florida

Offices are:

  1. First District of Florida - View Website
    1. (1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 8th and 14th Circuits)
    2. Regional Counsel Candice Brower
  2. Second District of Florida - View Website
    1. (6th, 10th, 12th, 13th and 20th Circuits)
    2. Regional Counsel Ita M. Neymotin
  3. Third District Court of Florida - Read more about the Third Region
    1. (11th and 16th Circuits)
    2. Regional Counsel Eugene Zenobi
  4. Fourth District of Florida - View Website
    1. (15th, 17th and 19th Circuits)
    2. Regional Counsel Anthony Ryan
  5. Fifth District of Florida - View Website
    1. (5th, 7th, 9th and 18th Circuits)
    2. Regional Counsel Jeffrey Deen